The ASOPRS Foundation funds ongoing educational programs here and abroad to keep members, trainees, and other interested parties abreast of the continually evolving field of oculoplastic care.

Current Educational Activities:

ASOPRS Foundation Michael J. Hawes Lecture
The ASOPRS Foundation supports an annual lecture each year on the specialty of ophthalmic facial plastic and reconstructive surgery.

Newly Inducted Members Spring Meeting Support
The ASOPRS Foundation provides Education Grants to oculoplastic fellows to attend the Spring Meeting lectures.

ASOPRS Dortzbach Oculofacial Plastic Surgery Bibliography
The ASOPRS Foundation has provided grant funding for the distribution and access to the Dortzbach oculofacial Plastic Surgery Bibliography, which is updated yearly through the University of Wisconsin.

On-line Journal access for International Programs
The ASOPRS Foundation provides education grant funds to provide access to the ASOPRS Journal on-line for international oculoplastic training programs.

Digital/Mobile Surgical Log for Fellows
iOperate is a web-based system designed to simplify and improve the surgical case reporting of ASOPRS fellows-in-training. Aaron Fay, M.D. and John Nguyen, M.D. created iOperate. Using iOperate, fellows are able to log surgical cases in real time using an iPhone, iPad, iPod, Android phone or tablet, or a traditional computer. Entries are immediately transmitted to the ASOPRS national surgical database. Each fellow is able to access their own case log using the system, while ASOPRS is able to analyze the national database. The system has been implemented this academic year for all fellows.

Spring Rising Star Award for Best YASOPRS Presentation

The Spring Rising Star Award had its initial presentation at the Spring 2018 Meeting. Each year it will be awarded to the Best YASOPRS Presentation at the Spring Meeting and will be in honor of the highest ASOPRS Foundation Donor from the previous year.


Rising Star
2021   Clara Men, MD, for her presentation, “Transorbital Approaches to the Skull Base: An Anatomic Tool From 3D Models for Orbital Surgeons.

The 2021 Spring, Rising Star Award, was named in honor of David M. Reifler, MD, the highest donor to the ASOPRS Foundation in 2020.

Rising Star Award 2020

2020   Robert Beaulieu, MD, for his presentation, “The Impact of Social Media, Internet Searches, and a Practice’s Website on an Oculoplastics Practice: Economic Patterns of Self-Referred Patients.”
The 2020 Spring, Rising Star Award, was named in honor of Richard P. Carroll, MD, the highest donor to the ASOPRS Foundation in 2019.

Rising Star Award 2019

2019   Emily Charlson, MD, for her outstanding talk, “Oncologic and Functional Outcomes of Orbital Exenteration versus Globe-Salvaging Therapy for Orbital Squamous Cell Carcinoma.”
The 2019 Spring, Rising Star Award, was named in honor of Roger A. Dailey, MD, the highest donor to the ASOPRS Foundation in 2018.

Rising Star Award 2018

2018   Nicholas Mahoney, MD, was the 2018 recipient for his presentation at the YASOPRS Rapid Fire Case Presentations, “Trends and Variance in Coding and Case Logging by ASOPRS Fellows.”
The 2018 Spring, Rising Star Award, was named in honor of Edwin C. Augustat, MD, the highest donor to the ASOPRS Foundation in 2017.

Bartley R. Frueh Award for Best YASOPRS Presentation

The Bartley Frueh, MD, Award for Best YASOPRS Presentation is given by the ASOPRS Foundation to the top two YASOPRS presentations during the fall meeting. This award is given in honor of Dr. Bartley Frueh’s passion for teaching and intellectual curiosity. Dr. Frueh, a past ASOPRS president, a renowned oculoplastic surgeon, and world expert on thyroid eye disease, established and directed the Eye Plastics and Orbital Service at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, 1979-2008.

2019 Award Presentation with ASOPRS Foundation Chair Jan W. Kronish, MD, and the 2019 Bart Frueh Award winners:  Adam Sweeney, MD, Baylor College of Medicine, and Rachel Sobel, MD, Vanderbilt University Medical Center.

2018 Award Presentations with ASOPRS Foundation Chair Jan Kronish, MD, and ASOPRS Foundation Trustee Christine Nelson, MD

2017 Award Presentations with ASOPRS Chair Roberta E. Gausas, MD

Michelle Ting, MD, "Differential Effects of Teprotumumab Treatment Based on Fat: Muscle Ratio in Thyroid Eye Disease"

Kelsey Roelofs, MD, "Optimizing Management of Asymmetric Ptosis: A Comparison of Three Posterior Approach Resection Algorithms"

Rohan Verman, MD, "Acellular Cadaveric Dermal Matrix (ACDM) Grafts vs. Non-ACDM Grafts for Orbital Wall Reconstruction in Patients with Sinonasal Malignancies"

Liza Cohen, MD, "Recurrence of Orbital Venous-Dominant Venolymphatic Malformations After Sclerotherapy vs. Embolization with Excision"

Adam Sweeney, MD, "Topical Prostaglandin Analogue Use is Associat3ed with Ptosis Repair Failure" 

Rachel Sobel, MD, "Frequency and Fate of Residual Orbital Lesions after Treatment of Orbital Rhabdomyosarcoma"

Emily Sarah Charlson, MD, “A Digital Ocular Prosthesis with Wireless Transmission of Real-Time Pupil Tracking”

Andres Ting, MD, “Blink Dynamics by High Speed Photography:  Small Incision Levator Advancement Versus Müller’s Muscle Conjunctival Resection”

Benjamin Erickson, MD, “Don't ‘Burn, Baby, Burn!’: A Novel Decoupler to Prevent Operating Room Fires”

Nora Silverman, MD, “Ocular Pyogenic Granulomas Treated with Topical Timolol”

Evan Kalin-Hajdu, MD, “Diffusion Weighted Imaging as a Method of Diagnosing Distensible Orbital Venous Malformations”

Sonul Mehta, MD, “Is Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease Associated with Primary Acquired Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction (PANDO)?”

Alison Callahan, MD, “Low Flow Combined Venous-Arterial Lesions of the Orbit”

Jill Melicher Larson, MD, “A Case of Cocaine-Induced Pyoderma Gangrenosum Resulting in Severe Cicatricial Ectropion”

Milap Mehta, MD, “Medial Orbital Wall Anatomic Landmarks”

Preeti Thyparampil, MD, “Changes in Intracocular Pressure During Orbital Floor Fracture Repair”

Dan Rootman, MD, “Does the Tyndall Effect Describe the Blue Hue Periodically Observed in Subdermal Hyaluronic Acid Gel Placement?”

Edward Wladis, MD, “Immunologic Characteristics of Ocular Rosacea”

Edward Wladis, MD, “Toll-like Receptors and Vascular Markers in Ocular Rosacea”

Matthew Vicinanzo, MD, “The Prevalence of Air Regurgitation and Its Consequences After Conjuntivo-dacryocystorhinostomy with Lester Jones Tube and Dacryocystorhinostomy with Silicone Intubation”